How to free up storage on your iPhone – Guide

If you’re like me, you get super stressed whenever you get that notification on your iPhone saying you’re running out of storage space. For some reason, knowing my iPhone storage is nearly full gives me the same anxiety as knowing I need to clean my apartment. Maybe I have something cluttered? Or maybe I have something to the concept of loss and being surrounded by a lot of familiar (albeit meaningless) things comforts me? I do not know. I will find this out in therapy. What were we here for again? Oh, right. releasing up iPhone Storage. I’ll tell you how to do it now. This screen will likely look a little different for each person as it shows the makeup of your iPhone’s personal storage. At the top you will see the amount of storage space currently in use compared to the amount of storage space remaining. As you can see above, the items are color coded to show various apps as well as how much storage space they take up. up. You can also scroll down to see each individual item / app and how much space it is taking up. up.

From here on, basically it’s all about deleting things.

Your iPhone will give you some recommendations at the top to make things easier for you. Apple will also try to sell iCloud storage here or use storage you have but may not be using it. Referring to the photo of my storage space above, my phoneThe main recommendation is to enable iCloud Photos. Tapping “Enable” will “Automatically upload and securely store all your photos and videos on iCloud so you can browse, search and share from any of your devices” and this will clear up almost 16GB of storage (damn maybe I should do that). This would solve my storage problem almost immediately considering my photos taken up maybe the biggest storage space on my phone. My phoneThe other recommendation is to automatically delete old conversations from my text messages. According to my storage overview, my messages are carrying up more than 8GB of space. If I turn on the Automatically delete old conversations option, my phone will delete “all messages and attachments sent or received more than 1 year ago”. that would clean up about 5.5GB on my storage – another decent sized chunk of space. But think here: you might want some of those old messages, including photos or videos that someone may have sent you a long time ago. If I wanted to see more recommendations, I could tap “show all” to see other easy things I can do to save space. I could empty my “Recently Deleted” photo album. Your iPhone retains photos and videos for 30 days after you delete them (in case you make a mistake and want to get them back). After that, they were gone forever. But you can also be proactive in releasing up iPhone storage space, instantly emptying this album, as long as you’re sure you don’t want to recover any of your recently deleted content. In my case, enabling these options would release up almost 1GB of space. I could also review large attachments in my messages. Tapping this recommendation will show the attachments (photos / videos / documents) shared in my posts – all sorted from largest to smallest so I can review the ones they are taking up more space first. If I want to delete an item, just swipe left and tap “Delete”. Once you’ve decided whether to enable your iPhone recommendations or not, you can scroll down the screen, going from app to app, deciding what things to keep and what things to get rid of. Say, for example, I want to see how much space iMovie is taking up up. Scroll down to find iMovie in my app list and tap it. My iPhone shows me an overview of the app. It tells me the size of the app, how much space the documents and data within it are taking up, and then gives me options to “unload” or “delete” it. It also tells me what happens if I choose one of these options.

Downloading apps

If I choose Offload App, my iPhone will “release up storage used by the app, but keep your documents and data. ” So I could reinstall iMovie if I wanted, which would “put back the data if the app is still available in the App store”. Downloading apps is a good compromise for people like me who want to release up storage space, but don’t want to lose everything in the app being downloaded.

Deleting apps

Of course, there is always the option to delete the app. “This will delete the app and all related data from this iPhone. This action cannot be undone. ” If I wasn’t worried about losing all the data in my iMovie app, I could choose this option and up storage space that way. I would still have the option to reinstall the app from the App Store, but the data that was there before would have disappeared, so I would be starting from scratch with iMovie. Chances are that the combined size of all your apps is taking up up one of the biggest chunks of space on your storage, but you probably don’t want to just delete all your apps. And you shouldn’t feel like you have to. But taking the time to go through them in storage and decide what to keep and what to delete/unload is an easy way to do a clean sweep of iPhone storage. Like, do I really need that Trivia Crack game I played for 2 weeks in college when it was popular? Probably not. don’t delay up lots of space, but getting rid of a bunch of smaller apps will still save a good chunk of storage space. This iPhone storage menu illustrated in step 4 above will be 100 percent the key to managing your storage space. Once you get there, you’ll have the power and flexibility to do what you want with things. up space. Use your iPhone recommendations, download some apps, delete some apps, review your photos/videos and go do that iPhone spring cleaning you’ve been putting off. there are some others tips and tricks to help you for free up space, but the storage menu is definitely the easiest and best place to start. Once you do that, you’ll probably feel like you’ve cleaned your entire apartment. And that feels really good, especially without having to do any manual work.

Final note

I hope you like the guide How to free up storage on your iPhone. In case if you have any query regards this article you may ask us. Also, please share your love by sharing this article with your friends.

How to free up storage on your iPhone  2022  - 59How to free up storage on your iPhone  2022  - 3How to free up storage on your iPhone  2022  - 22How to free up storage on your iPhone  2022  - 98