The UtechSmart 6-in-1 USB C to HDMI Adapter came to my rescue and became my daily driver as I travel around with my laptop from home to the office or anywhere else. Let’s discuss this adapter in our UtechSmart 6 In 1 USB C to HDMI Adapter review.

Design

The design is a seamless metal case with no visible screws. Slender and without any parts to lose, it takes up about the same amount of space in the bag as two Ballpoint pen pens. It has a captive 6-inch USB-C cable, as well as USB-C PD, HDMI, Ethernet, and 3 USB 3.0 (blue) sockets. A USB Hub, Ethernet port, and HDMI display output are included. The build quality is good overall, and the aluminum enclosure is a lovely addition. The point is that the aluminum cover gets slightly warm to the touch. This was a low-cost adapter with a USB C power input, HDMI output, and gigabit ethernet. I use the HDMI port daily for a second monitor, and I use the ethernet port regularly if I need to uplink in one of our offices. Both ports appear to work flawlessly. The fact that every USB port on this device is USB 3.0 is a significant selling point. The only thing I have yet to try on this device is the power-delivery USB-C port, but I’m confident it would work fine if I did. The unit is made of aluminum, but it is not heavy.

Features

It employs the same heat dissipation technology as the MacBook Pro to increase battery life and provide excellent performance, making it safe and dependable when all six ports are occupied. With the 6 in 1 USB-C hub, you can connect to the latest MacBook Pro or USB-C devices via an Ethernet port, a USB-C charging port with power delivery, a 4K HDMI port, and three USB 3.0 ports with data transmission speeds of up to 5Gbps. While connected to a 100W power delivery port, the USB Type-C hub charges your MacBook Pro or other Type-C devices.

It has a 1000Mbps Gigabit RJ45 Ethernet port that is backward compatible with a 100Mbps/10Mbps RJ45 LAN. HDMI port supports a large screen Liquid crystal TV or display that is 4K Max output compatible and provides a vivid 3D effect video Sync. The aluminum case is not only faster at dissipating heat, but it is also ideal for the fashion of your MacBook Pro in New Space Gray. It is slim and lightweight and fits easily in any bag or briefcase with your laptop, making it ideal for travel.

Performance

I’d never purchased a USB-C to ethernet adapter before, but I kept one on hand for my older MacBook because they’re helpful from time to time. In that regard, this one performs admirably – I’m getting gigabit speeds. I’ve attached a speed test that shows over 900 up, but my Mac’s network settings show a transfer rate of 1000. The USB 3.0 ports function as expected. I attached a screenshot of the system report, but it shows a 5 GB speed, and the transfer speeds appear to reflect that. Three USB ports are a generous amount – I’d nearly consider a smaller adapter with two, but if your complaint is that there are too many USB ports, that’s a good sign. Unfortunately, the world isn’t ready to live without USB type A, which is abundant in this adapter. The HDMI adapter is 4k 30hz, the highest resolution available on a multipart dongle. I looked for this same adapter with 4k 60hz, and while I found a few that claim it, it’s always 4k 30hz. If you want 60hz, you must purchase a USB-C to HDMI adapter with no other ports (like the one I mentioned above). I included a photo of my Mac recognizing the resolution of my 4k TV (3480×2160). The power delivery works; it successfully charged my M2 MacBook Pro. It has a power delivery of 60w, which may be slower than you’re used to, depending on your computer. The MacBook charger is 65w, but it also has two ports, so the power delivery isn’t necessary. The charger is 60w, sufficient for 13-inch Macs with two ports. If you have a 12-inch MacBook with only one port, this is a lifesaver – it has everything you need to make it usable.

Final words

Overall, it’s a fantastic adapter that performs admirably for each port it provides. When turned on, it has an indicator light that I’m not sure serves any purpose, but the build quality is excellent. It looks great (and would look great with a space grey MacBook), though I do wish it was available in silver to match mine. It has replaced three adapters that I used to carry, and it now has power delivery, one USB port, and a gigabit ethernet. The only question is durability; if it keeps performing like this, it will tick every box. While I’ve had no problems with the UtechSmart 6-in-1 USB C Adapter, it has relieved me of the need to worry about connectivity whether I’m at work or home. The adapter is attractive, sturdy due to its metal construction, and portable due to its small size and weight. I simply toss it into my bag along with the MacBook Pro’s power adapter, and I can connect at work, on the road, or at home to my desktop with all peripherals.

UtechSmart 6 in 1 USB C to HDMI Adapter review - 65UtechSmart 6 in 1 USB C to HDMI Adapter review - 84UtechSmart 6 in 1 USB C to HDMI Adapter review - 25UtechSmart 6 in 1 USB C to HDMI Adapter review - 93UtechSmart 6 in 1 USB C to HDMI Adapter review - 91UtechSmart 6 in 1 USB C to HDMI Adapter review - 21UtechSmart 6 in 1 USB C to HDMI Adapter review - 81